Self Portrait

When I look into a cool summer’s stream

I see a child whose face used to beam

Now that I’m older and grown

I know perfection is not as it seems

When I look into the mirror

I see a misconfigured figure

Filled with hate and overflowing with lies

This image I’ve come to despise

This portrait I now despise

Once filled with lust and foolish pride

When I glance at my marred face

I’m reminded (I’m) just a sinner saved by grace

About LovExpressed

My name is Joseph Elon Lillie VI (that's right the sixth). I am a junior in college. I have learned we spend so much time caught complaining and focusing on things that don't matter so the things that matter slip through our fingers like water. when it comes to what matters, I have learned that nothing matters to me as much as love, hope, and faith. These things keep me focused on the goal. I have had good times where I was happy, and I have had times of despair; but my blessing has always outweighed the sorrow that I have felt. I am currently in the middle of my first novella. Enjoy the journey with me as I discover the things that really matter in life.
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Self Portrait

  1. If I may say…Great write up

Leave a comment