The Cup I drink

The Cup I Drink

What is this cup I drink

Fatal as the poisons ‘neath the kitchen sink

I think this cup shall never pass

I have become an addict to the tainted glass

I feel strong within my inner bones

But this cup weakens the mortal soul

I can feel this fire burning inside

All I know is the anger and pride

Past the prison bars I cannot see

Everyone’s a potential enemy

Why can’t I let go of all this strife

Every turn is a whole new fight

Will this burning ever cease

Oh how I long for holy peace

Truth be said, one of the things I have struggled with is my anger, and the majority of you probably already know that. This is a poem I actually wrote in a fit of rage, and let me tell you do not succumb to anger it is something that will not let you go very easily. Over time anger does wear on you both emotionally, and spiritually, but what surprised me is when I would get in a fit of rage yes the adrenaline makes you feel strong but when the anger ceases you are left feeling physically drained and it does take its toll on your body as well. Do not get me wrong there is a time for anger, and there is a time to look at people and say REALLY! More often than not though we… I mean I need to strive to be a peace maker, and that does not happen by being constantly angry.  How can I make peace when I view everyone as a potential enemy? I cannot! Yes, I will admit I can sometimes be quite an angry individual, and I will admit it is an ongoing battle I face. Sometimes I lose the battle, but thanks be to God often I win the battle. Just remember do not let the sun go down on your anger because when you grudge that is really when you start to wear down, physically, mentally, and spiritually. I say this more to myself than to anyone else because anger is often my own battle Take advice from someone who has experience. 

About LovExpressed

My name is Joseph Elon Lillie VI (that's right the sixth). I am a junior in college. I have learned we spend so much time caught complaining and focusing on things that don't matter so the things that matter slip through our fingers like water. when it comes to what matters, I have learned that nothing matters to me as much as love, hope, and faith. These things keep me focused on the goal. I have had good times where I was happy, and I have had times of despair; but my blessing has always outweighed the sorrow that I have felt. I am currently in the middle of my first novella. Enjoy the journey with me as I discover the things that really matter in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

