On Suffering

As I write I want to say I may not be the first to use these words, never mind have these ideas. Anyways I believe is was Gauguin who said, “Art is either plagiarism or revolution.” so either you make something up or use someone else’s thought. So here are my reflections, some my own, others not.

I have tasted defeat, I have felt victory slip through my grasp on many an occasion. I have wandered through life wondering who I am and what defines me. I have read too many words, and seen too much. I have at times wondered where God was when I could not hear him. Suppose for a minute the reason I could not hear him was I was living to loud, or my life was speaking to fast.

We all desire good things to happen to us. We want to feel loved, we want joy, and we want grace. We want to experience pleasure, and happiness, wealth, and prosperity. None of us want bad things to happen. I desire hunger, because in being hungry I will have chance to have the pleasure of being filled. I desire quietness, so I can hear Him when He speaks. Suppose for once without suffering of any type where the human race would be technologically, or even militarily. Think how one can mature without growing pains. So maybe I long for suffering not in some extremeist way that I would go about flogging myself but only to feel the prosperity that comes of it. I long for these things as a dying man longs for death, for I know whats on the other side of the struggle, or rather as a pregnant woman longs for the hours of labor, for I know the beauty that would be made complete if I last through the dark hour of pain. I’ve learned not to seek hunger, suffering, or silence as an end point, but rather as the start of a process. Besides this we know and understand God has made all things beautiful in time, emphasize the word ALL.

To the reader-

I have no idea what you are going through right now, but let those words of Ecclesiastes speak encouragement into your lives, whether you face a hill or a mountain know that God is with you. Even if you can’t see Him see how He is working everything out in you to make you beautiful (or shine) in your time. Remember to find that place of quietness where it is just you and Him.

About LovExpressed

My name is Joseph Elon Lillie VI (that's right the sixth). I am a junior in college. I have learned we spend so much time caught complaining and focusing on things that don't matter so the things that matter slip through our fingers like water. when it comes to what matters, I have learned that nothing matters to me as much as love, hope, and faith. These things keep me focused on the goal. I have had good times where I was happy, and I have had times of despair; but my blessing has always outweighed the sorrow that I have felt. I am currently in the middle of my first novella. Enjoy the journey with me as I discover the things that really matter in life.
This entry was posted in beauty, faith, hope, hurt, inspiration, joy, life, pain, philosophy, sorrow, theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

