Look Above the Clouds

This summer, rather this whole year has been a learning experience for me. Lately I was listening to the song “Both Sides Now” by Joni Mitchell. The first verse goes, “Rows and flows of angel hair/ And ice cream castles in the air/ And feather canyons everywhere/ I’ve looked at clouds * that way/ But now they only block the sun /They rain and snow on everyone/ So many things I would have done/ But clouds got in my way.”

I have been thinking about life, and how it sometimes can throw us off course. So I have begun to learn an important lesson about life. The lesson is this, the sun is always shining sometimes the clouds just prevent us from seeing the sun. This is true just as God always has a plan, and sometimes because of life, or things that happen (both good and bad) can actually prevent us from seeing his plan. This blindness is not a bad or good thing in itself…it just is sometimes.

The reasons we become blind to this plan vary greatly. Perhaps someone has died, or perhaps you got into some life altering argument. Maybe life changed suddenly for you in one way or another…good or bad. Suppose it is sin that can blind us to this plan. Maybe it is finances.

There are so many different purposes for these “clouds” of life. Could it be that if we knew the plan in its entirety we may be too eager to accomplish the plan that is supposed to last us the entirety of life’s voyage. Perhaps these areas in life where we feel weak are to actually make us stronger in some way. Suppose the clouds serve as protection as we are getting the much needed rest before we continue our journey. Whatever the case  be encouraged when you cannot see the plan He has; and know the plan is in place we just can’t see it with our mortal mind.

With Love
Joseph Elon

About LovExpressed

My name is Joseph Elon Lillie VI (that's right the sixth). I am a junior in college. I have learned we spend so much time caught complaining and focusing on things that don't matter so the things that matter slip through our fingers like water. when it comes to what matters, I have learned that nothing matters to me as much as love, hope, and faith. These things keep me focused on the goal. I have had good times where I was happy, and I have had times of despair; but my blessing has always outweighed the sorrow that I have felt. I am currently in the middle of my first novella. Enjoy the journey with me as I discover the things that really matter in life.
This entry was posted in faith, hope, inspiration, journey, life, nature, philosophy, theology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Look Above the Clouds

  1. Angela Bauver says:

    Good post joe!!

  2. Ann says:

    Thank you, Joseph

    “Maybe life changed suddenly for you in one way or another…good or bad.”
    I don’t like it when ‘life changes suddenly’, at all but I’m slowly learning that it’s not all about me. The clouds will come whether or not I want them to. Gotta figure out how to adjust my attitude so my parade doesn’t get rained on. Changes will come, whether or not I like them. I get to decide how I handle them.

    Father, you see my plans and where I want to go but You choose not to do what I expect. Please help me to leave my hand in yours and to trust Your direction, cloud or no cloud. Amen.

    Blessings
    ann

Leave a Reply

